Open Position: Director, Texas A&M Energy Institute

Texas A&M Energy Institute Director Search

The Texas A&M Energy Institute was founded in 2009 and it is a joint institute between Texas A&M University and the Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station (TEES). It is led by a director who reports to the Texas A&M University Vice President for Research. The Texas A&M Energy Institute pursues and supports new approaches for multi-disciplinary energy research, education and external partnerships. These approaches cross departmental and college boundaries and address all facets of the energy landscape that naturally connect engineering, sciences, technologies, economics, law and policy. Dedicated to discovering energy solutions and improving the quality of life, the Texas A&M Energy Institute engages undergraduate and graduate students, postdoctoral associates, research staff, and faculty members toward the study and development of innovative technologies and policies for energy production and energy conservation.

The Energy Institute engages in interdisciplinary research with over 250 faculty affiliates from nine colleges, more than 20 Texas A&M University departments, two Texas A&M University branch campuses, and two Texas A&M University System agencies. Beyond research, it aims to educate the next generation of leaders in energy through its innovative Master of Science in Energy and Energy Certificate educational programs, foster an integrated approach and research agenda across disciplines and develop quantitative tools for the analysis of energy systems that will point the way to sustainability for decision-makers and a better quality of life.

The Energy Institute Director is the chief academic and administrative official for the institute whose responsibilities include:

  1. Guiding the development and implementation of a vision for the Energy Institute.
  2. Overseeing the Master of Science in Energy and Certificate in Energy programs and providing leadership in energy education and energy research across Texas A&M.
  3. Working to ensure resources necessary for the smooth operation of the Energy Institute, including from external awards and business and industry collaborations.
  4. Fostering and engaging the growing Energy Institute faculty affiliates and carrying forward the vision on interdisciplinary engagement and inclusiveness across campus.
  5. Engaging external agencies, stakeholders and industries at the local, state, national, and international levels to promote the vision, goals and activities of the Energy Institute.
  6. Working to create a community of energy scholars and provide an internal and external point of entry for identifying and contacting energy expertise at Texas A&M.
  7. Closely following new trends and emerging fields in energy research where Texas A&M can successfully position itself for funding opportunities and collaborations.

Texas A&M University is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action/Veterans/Disability Employer committed to diversity.

 

Energy Institute Director Search Committee

Name Title Email
Mark A. Barteau Chair, Vice President for Research barteau@tamu.edu
Karen Butler-Purry Special Advisor to the Vice President for Research klbutler@tamu.edu
Costas N. Georghiades Senior Associate Vice President for Research georghiades@tamu.edu
Le Xie College of Engineering
Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
le.xie@tamu.edu
Rabi Mohtar College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Professor of Agricultural and Biological Engineering
mohtar@tamu.edu
Arnold Vedlitz The Bush School of Government and Public Service
Professor
avedlitz@tamu.edu
Robert V. Avant, Jr. Texas A&M AgriLife Research
Program Director, Corporate Relations
Bob.Avant@ag.tamu.edu
Sarbajit Banerjee College of Science
Professor of Chemistry
banerjee@chem.tamu.edu
Mukul R. Bhatia College of Geosciences
Executive Professor and Director, Berg-Hughes Center for Petroleum and Sedimentary Systems
mbhatia@tamu.edu
Hongcai (Joe) Zhou College of Science
Professor of Chemistry and Robert A. Welch Foundation Chair
zhou@chem.tamu.edu
Sorin Sorescu Mays Business School
Head of Department of Finance, Ruby and Earle A. Shields Jr. ’41 Chair in Investment Advising
SSorescu@mays.tamu.edu
Mahmoud El-Halwagi College of Engineering
McFerrin Professor of Chemical Engineering
Managing Director of TEES Gas and Fuels Research Center
el-halwagi@tamu.edu
Liliana O. Beltran College of Architecture
Associate Professor
lbeltran@arch.tamu.edu
Anthony Knap College of Geosciences
James R. Whatley Endowed Chair in Geosciences; Director, Geochemical and Environmental Research Group
tknap@geos.tamu.edu
Narasimha Reddy Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station (TEES)
J.W. Runyon, Jr. ’35 Professor I of Electrical and Computer Engineering
reddy@tamu.edu