News and Events

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Global Optimization Conference (GOC-2017)

March 30, 2017 - April 1, 2017

Event Navigation

Global Optimization Conference (GOC-2017) will be held on March 30 – April 1, 2017, in the Annenberg Presidential Conference Center on the campus of Texas A&M University. The event will be dedicated in memory of Professor Christodoulos A. Floudas, a world leader in global optimization, who passed away in August 2016. GOC-2017 continues the tradition of The World Congress on Global Optimization (WCGO) that previously took place in Changsha, China (2009), Chania, Greece (2011), Huangshang, China (2013), and Gainesville, Florida (2015). One of the highlights of this biannual meeting is the announcement of Constantin Carathéodory Prize of the International Society of Global Optimization awarded in recognition of lifetime contributions to the field of global optimization.

Call for Participation

Proposals for special sessions, invited speakers and contributed papers and are welcome and may be submitted by email to Sergiy Butenko ( or Stratos Pistikopoulos (

Researchers and practitioners working in areas related to theory and applications of global optimization are invited to submit abstracts for consideration. The abstracts should describe the contribution in general terms and should not exceed 1 page (i.e., it should be similar to a journal paper abstract).

Accepted abstracts will be printed in the conference program. The speakers will have approximately thirty minutes to present their talk. Please contact one of the organizers if you need more information.

Important Dates

Submission of Abstracts January 20, 2017
Notification of Acceptance January 30, 2017
Early Registration Deadline February 10, 2017
Submission of Papers to Special Issue of
Journal of Global Optimization
July 1, 2017


A special issue of Journal of Global Optimization will be edited after the conference. Manuscripts should be prepared in LaTeX.

The final submission should include the original source (including all style files and figures) and a PDF version of the compiled output. The paper submission deadline is July 1, 2017. All papers will go through a regular peer review process.

Travel Information

The conference will be held in College Station, Texas, the home of Texas A&M University. The area is serviced by Easterwood Airport (CLL), with direct flights to/from Houston and Dallas. Nearby international airports include Houston George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH) and Austin–Bergstrom International Airport (AUS). Shuttle services are available between College Station and Houston airports (

Hotel Reservations

A special blocks of rooms has been reserved at Cavalry Court for the nights of March 29, 30, & 31.

The negotiated conference rate for the Global Optimization Conference is $139/night.

Cavalry Court
200 Century Court
College Station, Texas 77840

GOC-2017 Program
March 30 – April 1, 2017
Annenberg Presidential Conference Center
Texas A&M University
College Station, TX
Conference Organizers:
Sergiy Butenko (Texas A&M University)
Efstratios Pistikopoulos (Texas A&M University)


You can now register and pay registration fees using a credit card through the online secure system provided by Texas A&M.

Registration Fees

Early Registration
(Before February 10, 2017)
Regular Registration
(After February 10, 2017)
Student Registration $100 before February 10
$200 after February 10

The registration covers the conference materials, welcome reception, conference dinner, coffee breaks, and lunches on March 30-31, as well as participation in extracurricural activities (such as soccer games).

Program Committee

Panos M. Pardalos University of Florida USA
Hoang Tuy Institute of Mathematics Vietnam
Claire S. Adjiman Imperial College London UK
Charles Audet Polytechnique Montreal Canada
Adil Bagirov Federation University Australia
Balabhaskar Balasundaram Oklahoma State University USA
Paul I. Barton Massachusetts Institute of Technology USA
Ernesto G. Birgin University of São Paulo Brazil
Immanuel Bomze University of Vienna Austria
Altannar Chinchuluun Imperial College London UK
Wanpracha Art Chaovalitwongse Univeristy of Arkansas USA
Yu-Hong Dai Chinese Accademy of Sciences China
Aris Daniilidis Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona Spain
Ding-zhu Du University of Texas at Dallas USA
Mirjam Dür Universität Trier Germany
Matthias Ehrgott University of Auckland Australia
Shu-Cherng Fang North Carolina State University USA
Inmaculada García Fernández University of Malaga Spain
Dalila Fontes University of Porto Portugal
János Fülöp Hungarian Academy of Sciences Hungary
Boris Goldengorin Ohio University USA
Chrysanthos E. Gounaris Carnegie Mellon University USA
Ignacio E. Grossmann Carnegie Mellon University USA
Yongpei Guan University of Florida USA
Nicolas Hadjisavvas University of the Aegean Greece
Eligius M. T. Hendrix Wageningen University and Universidad de Málaga Spain
Jeya Jeyakumar University of New South Wales Australia
Donald R. Jones General Motors Corporation USA
Igor Konnov Kazan Federal University Russia
Pavlo Krokhmal University of Arizona USA
Simge Küçükyavuz University of Washington USA
Erhun Kundakcioglu Özyeğin University Turkey
Takahito Kuno University of Tsukuba Japan
Leo Liberti Ecole Polytechnique France
Marco Locatelli University of Parma Italy
Angelo Lucia University of Rhode Island USA
Jérôme Malick Grenoble University France
Lina Mallozzi University of Naples Federico II Italy
Antonino Maugeri University of Catania Italy
Juan Enrique Marínez-Legaz Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona Spain
Frédéric Messine Institut of Research in Informatic of Toulouse France
Kaisa Miettinen University of Jyväskylä Finland
Athanasios Migdalas Aristotle University of Thessalonica / Lulea Technical University Greece / Sweden
Alexander Mitsos RWTH Aachen University Germany
Boris Mordukhovich Wayne State University USA
Lewis Ntaimo Texas A&M University USA
Jiming Peng University of Houston USA
Janos D. Pinter Lehigh University USA
Efstratios Pistikoloulos Texas A&M University USA
Leonidas Pitsoulis Aristotle University of Thessaloniki Greece
Oleg Prokopyev University of Pittsburgh USA
Themistocles M. Rassias National Technical University of Athens Greece
Steffen Rebennack Colorado School of Mines USA
Mauricio G. C. Resende  Amazon Research USA
Jean-Philippe P. Richard University of Florida USA
Dolores Romero Morales Copenhagen Business School Denmark
Berc Rustem Imperial College London USA
Nikolaos V. Sahinidis Carnegie Mellon University USA
Fabio Schoen University of Florence Italy
Yaroslav D. Sergeyev University of Calabria Italy
Thomas C. Sharkey Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute USA
Ruey-Lin Sheu National Cheng-Kung University Taiwan
Anthony Man-Cho So The Chinese University of Hong Kong China
Mohit Tawarmalani Purdue University USA
Kok Lay Teo Curtin University Austrialia
Fengqi You Cornell University USA
Karl Tapio Westerlund Åbo Akademi University Finland
Henry Wolkowicz University of Waterloo Canada
Graham Wood Macquarie University Australia
Zelda Zabinsky University of Washington USA
Anatoly Zhigljavsky Cardiff University UK
Antanas Zilinskas Vilnius University Lithuania
Julius Zilinskas Vilnius University Lithuania


March 30, 2017
April 1, 2017


Sergiy Butenko


Annenberg Presidential Conference Center
Annenberg Presidential Conference Center
College Station, TX 77840 United States
+ Google Map