Texas A&M Conference on Energy: 2017 Panelists

The Texas A&M Conference on Energy will feature panelists and discussions from influential experts in industry, academia, and government.

Big Data, Big Responsibility: The Role of Big Data in Energy

September 25, 2017 (Monday) – 1.30 p.m. – 2.30 p.m.

The advancement in technology and computational power has enabled huge amount of data collection in real time, which has initiated the big data era. Today big data analytics is becoming an essential tool for businesses as well as society, providing assistance in decision-making processes in numerous energy industries. With increasing popularity comes lots of questions on its current capabilities and future potential. In this panel organization, we aim to discuss the challenges and opportunities associated with the use of big data in the energy sector.

Faruque Hasan
Dr. Faruque Hasan (Moderator)
Assistant Professor, Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering, Texas A&M University

Dr. Yu Ding (Panelist)
Professor, Department of Industrial & Systems Engineering, Texas A&M University (Panelist)


James Peters
James Peters (Panelist)
Analytical Specialist, The Dow Chemical Company

Brian Richards
Brian Richards (Panelist)
Managing Director, Innovation, Accenture

Brant Swidler
Brant Swidler (Panelist)
Customer Success Manager, SparkCognition


Moving toward a Safe, Secure & Sustainable Energy Supply Chain:

What is the current state? What are tomorrow’s challenges?

September 26, 2017 (Tuesday) – 1.30 p.m. – 2.30 p.m.

Energy production and distribution are major challenges for today’s and tomorrow’s energy infrastructure. How energy infrastructures are constructed will have a substantial impact on the development of future technologies. To build, maintain, and grow a resilient energy supply chain, sustainability, safety, and security must be carefully considered in the planning process. This panel discussion will focus on these three major issues around the energy supply chain: sustainability, safety, and security.

James Pettigrew
Captain James Pettigrew (Moderator)
Director, Operations for the Ocean Energy Safety Institute, Texas A&M University


J. Gregory Hall
J. Gregory Hall (Panelist)
Principal Electrical Engineer, Eastman Chemical Company


M. Sam Mannan
Dr. M. Sam Mannan (Panelist)
Director, Mary Kay O’Connor Safety Center – Professor, Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering, Texas A&M University

Debalina Sengupta
Dr. Debalina Sengupta (Panelist)
Associate Director, Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station – Gas and Fuels Research Center