Skip Navigation

Floudas to Present 2015 P.V. Danckwerts Memorial Lecture

Published: June 8, 2015
Christodoulos A. Floudas
Christodoulos A. Floudas

Professor Christodoulos A. Floudas, director of the Texas A&M Energy Institute and the Erle Nye ’59 Chair Professor for Engineering Excellence at the Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering at Texas A&M University, has been selected to present the 2015 Danckwerts Lecture at the 10th European Congress of Chemical Engineering in Nice, France on September 28, 2015. He will present “Carbon Capture, Utilization, and Sequestration: A Multi-scale Grand Challenge

The Danckwerts Lecture was established in 1985 to honor Prof. Peter V. Danckwerts as a leading scholar in the field of chemical engineering and for his contributions as an Executive Editor of Chemical Engineering Science, the second Shell Professor of Chemical Engineering at the University of Cambridge, and past president of the Institute of Chemical Engineering. It is co-sponsored by Chemical Engineering Science, the Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE), the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE), and the European Federation of Chemical Engineering (EFCE).

Professor Floudas is a world-renowned authority in mathematical modeling and optimization of complex systems. His research interests lie at the interface of chemical engineering, applied mathematics, and operations research, with principal areas of focus including multi-scale systems engineering for energy and the environment, chemical process synthesis and design, process operations, discrete-continuous nonlinear optimization, local and global optimization, and computational chemistry and molecular biology.

He is the recipient of numerous awards and honors for teaching and research, including election to the National Academy of Engineering in 2011, a SIAM Fellow in 2013, a TIAS Fellow and Eminent Scholar for 2013-14, an AIChE Fellow in 2013, a Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Researcher in 2014 for the 11 years between 2002-2012, the Constantin Caratheodory Prize in 2015, and election as a Corresponding Member of the Academy of Athens in 2015.